How it all began

Yes I know it sounds like the beginning of a crazy fairy tale but I do not know how else to start but from the beginning.

June 2012 – I was called in to meet with our CEO and CHRO at the end of the day, I just knew what was going to happen but I could not believe it. After 13 years of working for a company one would think they were secure right? WRONG! I sat in the office 6 months pregnant going numb as I was being told they were firing me. The circumstances are really not important, all I can say as the excuse really was in January we hired a new CEO and most professionals can fill in the blank on what happens where there is a new regime.

I cried the whole way home I was in shock it was unbelievable to me how they could just simply fire me. How heartless, how cruel the company I worked for was not a big company by business standards we were a “Mom and Pop facility” 2 out of the three people who were in the room had known me for 13 years and had seen my family grow from my husband and I to a family of 5 and soon to be 6. I remember showing those two people sonograms from my first pregnancy. This company prided themselves on being a family and here I was being kicked out of the house.

I had never been fired before so I did not know what to do, well the CHRO told me to apply for unemployment (which confused me because they fired me). I applied for unemployment and I actually got it so some of my fears had subsided. Now to look for another job, well here I am thinking I needed to start traveling and putting in applications in person. I quickly found that job searching now is totally different from 13 years ago everything is computerized, perspective employers do not want to see you until they decide to call for an interview (everything is done on the internet). I completed online application after online application and finally after 80 plus applications I scored my first interview. I went to a job interview 9 months pregnant and was ready to pop any day, and was greeted by wide eyes. Of course they noticed I was pregnant it was either that or I swallowed a watermelon. Of course we all know I did not get the job. This is when I first started thinking about working from home.

My little Madelyn was born on September 3 Labor Day (insert joke here) and I was instantly in love. My husband stayed home to take care of us and that is when I started talking to him about wanting to stay home and raise the baby and take care of the older kids. He looked at me with his big brown eyes and sympathized with me but of course reiterated that even though he loved me being home taking care of everything we would not be able to stay afloat financially, when unemployment ran out and I did not have a job. Of course my best friend and soul sister told me I needed to look into freelance work.  I thought about it and kinda shrugged it off.

Fast forward to a year later, I am now in deep the want for me to stay home is bad and my employment is running out soon. I need to find something and I as hard as I have been trying nothing is coming to fruition with re-joining the workforce. To be honest most employers are more willing to hire someone who is changing jobs before hiring someone who does not have a job. The way that unemployment rates have skyrocketed also has not helped. Most employers can hand-pick who they want and yes even though I have a lot of experience in what I do, I lack one thing a degree. Everything I have learned has been by doing but I am applying against people who have degrees and employers do not want to pay people like me what I am asking for (I have to ask high because I have an infant to place in daycare and 2 other children that need aftercare).

I have really been reading up and researching freelance work and it seems like it can be lucrative as long as I am willing to put time and effort into working at home. While riding in the car the other day I talked to my husband about my ideas and I told him I have been reading and researching and I think it is worth a shot.  My husband thought a moment and said “what do we have to lose” so here I am beginning my journey into the great big world of freelance.

Stay tuned my next post will be on different freelance websites, reading material and tools needed to get started.

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

