Reading, Learning, and Office Area…Oh My! (oh and a little shameless plug for my friend)

The last few days have been a whirlwind for me. I requested books to read at my local library, felt my way through starting a Facebook page and set up a dedicated office space.

Office Space

When I decided that I would pursue the freelance business I went full steam ahead. I have been getting lots of information and help from my best friend/soul sister Soli who blogs about food, frugality and life  

She has been an inspiration to me with many things, from starting the endeavor of freelancing to even how I view food and my diet.
In the past few years Soli has been helping me develop my diet from lots of ready to eat “shelf stable” foods  to real food. I now look at a tub of margarine in disgust and relish the flavor of real butter (not that garbage stores want you to think is butter).  Most of this transformation has occurred since becoming unemployed. You have to save your pennies when your income drops significantly. I do a lot of “from scratch” cooking which helps save a lot of money and it is healthier for the kids.I mentioned to Soli that I was on the lookout for another job (a requirement of unemployment benefits) but was not happy about the idea because I’ve been wanting to stay home with my kids. She was the one who encouraged me to look into freelance work and would not let go of the idea.
Since taking on the idea of freelancing for myself and coming up with a nifty name for my business, I started reading a book entitled The Best 101 Freelance Careers by Kelly Reno.  One thing I like about the book is the first chapter contains an evaluation and many questions to answer. As you take the evaluation and answer the questions you start to focus on yourself and if this is something you can do. I also noticed that a lot of the questions make you do a lot of soul-searching and reflecting on who you really are on the inside. As I continue to read the pages in this book I will continue to blog about it so you can learn while I am learning. I am looking forward to the chapters where Ms. Reno gives tips on how to sell and advertise your service. I think I can learn and apply a lot  from those chapters.Another point I wanted to make was office space. I started working in the dining room of my house and it just did not feel right. As I was trying to get my youngest child asleep, I was sitting in her room rocking her and staring at a desk which had been sitting against the wall collecting dust. My mind started running a million miles per second and I quickly decided that I wanted to move the desk into the den area of my house and turn it into my office space. I quickly put my wonderful nephew to work. We moved the desk down a flight of stairs (the desk was much heavier than it looked). As we moved the desk we realized that it was like moving a stand-up piano. My nephew found humor in my facial expressions when I thought the desk was going to fly down the stairs and hurt him in the process. After everything was said and done the desk looked good in the spot I had chosen and I was on my way that much more.

office bigger

As today is Memorial Day and yes I am taking time to spend with my lovely family. My Dad is a Veteran and my nephew will be joining the armed forces in the near future. I will be teaching the younger children the importance on why they have the day off from school. I am of course doing a barbecue theme like many people in the United States. However I am cooking on my terms, and one of the items I will be making is a berry trifle. I start with a whole wheat lemon pound cake recipe I have found in a blog called Healthy Home makers . I top the pound cake  with cut up berries and a homemade whipped cream, which has sour cream folded in (recipe and picture below).

trifle
Ingredients

Lemon pound cake – Ingredient List
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup of sugar
1/4 cup of coconut palm sugar
1/2 cup of butter
1/2 cup of coconut oil
1 tsp baking powder
6 large eggs
juice of 1 whole lemon (I also use some of the zest)
8 ounces of greek yogurt

Topping – Ingredient List
3 cups of heavy whipping cream
1 cup of daisy sour cream
1/4 cup of sugar
3 cups strawberries – macerated
3 cups blueberries

Mix all ingredients for lemon pound cake and bake in 325 degree oven until toothpick comes out clean (approx. 60 min)

Beat heavy whipping cream, sour cream and sugar until forms soft peaks.

Layer cake, berries and whipped cream.

Serving Size: makes 35 1/2 cup servings

Number of Servings: 35

I think the oven is calling now, so stay tuned for further adventures!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

