Reading, Bidding and More Reading

I have come to one conclusion in the last few days. If you are going to do something and do it well you need to research, hold your breath  and dive in.

I have climbed the ladder, looked down over the edge of the diving board, mentally have cried for my Mommy, plugged my nose, closed my eyes and jumped. I am not sure if it was a cannonball or a belly flop I guess I have to surface first to assess the damage and figure out the rest.

I did complete The Best 101 Freelance Careers by Kelly Reno. I recommend the book wholeheartedly if you want to start a freelance business but do not have the first idea of what you want to do. Ms. Reno goes in extreme detail on the different freelance businesses that are successful ( a small chapter on freelance virtual assistant ventures). At the end of the book she does give some really good  information on licenses and taxes.

I went back to the library and picked up Word Processing Profits at Home by Peggy Glenn and The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Starting a Home-Based Business by Barbara Weltman, Attorney-at-Law. I am slowly reading these books and getting more thoughts and ideas together which will be featured in the next post.

My good friend Soli is also my editor for my blog and suggested that I get a few books to help my writing skills so today at the library I picked up a few titles that intrigued me. I actually checked out four books; You Can Write for Magazines by Greg Daugherty, Good Grammar Made Easy by Martin Steinmann and Michael Keller, Write from Life by Meg Files, and Creative Blogging by Heather Wright-Porto.  I will be reading these books as well and give my thoughts and ideas (and maybe apply what I have learned) in the next post.

Okay so you see the reading and more reading part of my post title but where is the bidding part you ask?  Well here it comes now…

I joined a freelance site called Elance, set up my profile and decided that this was the site I would use to start my business. After much pacing, thinking and wondering I bit the bullet and put in a bid for a job. One bid turned into two, then three and now I have a whopping 7 bids in at this time. I like this site because when you put in your bid Elance adds the charges for their service to the perspective employer not the freelancer (unlike other sites I have seen). As a freelancer you can open an account (free or paid) and get what is called a “connect” (equal to an american dollar) and these are used to bid for jobs. When you have a free account like I do you get 40 “connects” each month.  I will of course give you an update on the bids I placed and if I got a job or not in the next post.

Unfortunately it has been a year since I lost my job and my unemployment has run dry so I am also applying for a full-time job I know that I will get quickly (that I am not so pleased about).  I need to support my family in these hard times because we cannot live off my husbands income alone. I will tell you this, even though I will probably be working a full-time job soon. I WILL continue with my freelancing. I hope to build my business up enough to eventually quit a mainstream job and stay home to support and care for my family like I want to. I WILL definitely continue this blog and write about all my ups and downs on freelancing.

I believe what you do for a living affects every facet of your life so I will be writing about my family, diet (real food vs. shelf stable), and my views on raising a family and doing it with what resources you have (i.e. victory gardening, couponing and other ways to stretch a dollar).

In future posts I will continue to link information (either other blogs, or just information I find) as I did in the post above, so you can read about the authors, products and services I post about and give the people who worked hard to help me out the credit they deserve. Of course it also helps you the reader get the information or product easily without having to Google or Bing search on your own (yes I know I am to kind) 😉

Okay, so a quick list of what I will be covering in the next few posts:

  1. Finish the two books I am reading on working from home and give commentary.
  2. Read the books I have on writing, blogging and grammar and give commentary/apply what I have learned to post.
  3. Give an update on my bid status (whether I was hired or not for a freelance job).
  4. Give an update on my current mainstream job status.

Wow I have a lot to do, don’t I? I better get to it then. See ya next time!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

