Father’s Day, Mermaids and Cake…Oh My!

Father’s Day preparation started on Saturday this year. I decided because I don’t have extra money coming in that I would say I love and appreciate you in the best way I know how, with FOOD!

You know the saying “The way to a man’s heart is through this stomach” well I decided this is the route I would go. For my father I made a coconut cake (of course from scratch icing and all).

Coconut Cake before baking

Coconut Cake before baking

Coconut Cake Recipe

1 ½ c. butter, softened (I used half butter and half coconut oil)

2 c. sugar

4 eggs

1 c. sour cream (using sour cake makes a really heavy cake I opted for a cup of reduced coconut milk)

½ t. baking powder

1 ¾ c. flour

2 c. coconut, flaked or shredded, packed

Cream butter and sugar in a bowl of an electric mixer (you can do this by hand but the batter gets heavy). add eggs one at a time until light and fluffy. Then add sour cream (or reduced coconut milk), and baking powder beat until everything is incorporated. Finally add flour and shredded coconut and mix just until everything is combined (do not over mix).

grease and flour 3 – 8″ round cake pans and distributed batter evenly. Bake in a 325 degree oven until cakes are golden brown (30-45 minutes).

Cool cakes thoroughly on cooling rack, then wrap cakes in plastic wrap and store in fridge overnight.

Coconut Creme Icing

1/3 of a cup of reduced coconut milk (pour 2 -13 oz cans of coconut milk in a pan and boil for 20 stirring constantly)

2 sticks of butter

2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups of coconut flakes

Beat butter in a large bowl until smooth. Add powdered sugar, 1/3 cup reduced coconut milk and salt. Beat on medium until blended, scraping down sides of bowl. Increase speed to medium-high and beat until light and fluffy. Frost cake and garnish top and sides of cake with flaked coconut.

Finished Cake

Finished Cake

My husband is not fond of coconut and he is working really hard to shed some weight (actually we both are), so I found a healthier version of a carrot cake and made cupcakes for him.

This is Fresh!

This is Fresh!

When I say I make something from scratch I mean it the carrots were lovely and sweet.

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

2 cups of whole wheat flour

1 cup sugar (I used coconut-palm sugar)

2 teaspoons of baking soda

1 tablespoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons nutmeg

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup of pumpkin puree

1 egg

1 cup milk

1 tablespoon of vanilla

3 cups of shredded carrots (3 large carrots grated)

1 cup of raisins

Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners, or grease pans well.

In a large bowl combine the flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl combine the pumpkin, milk, vanilla, egg, shredded carrots and raisins.

Slowly add the wet mixture into the dry ingredients, mixing well and scraping the sides of the bowl.

Fill 16-18 cupcake liners with 1/4 cup of batter per liner.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35-45 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely before icing.

image_2

Cream Cheese Icing

In a bowl beat 8 ounces of cream cheese on low-speed until smooth. Then add 1 cup of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and mix until combined well.

Spoon 2 tablespoons of icing on cupcake and spread icing on cupcake evenly.

My hubby modeling his cupcake for the camera.

My hubby modeling his cupcake for the camera.

The morning of Father’s Day everyone slept in except for my youngest (9 month old). I decided to be a good wife and let Daddy sleep in. While I waited for everyone else to wake, I finished icing the cake and cupcakes.

We headed out to Rainbow Springs for a day of rest, relaxation and to watch mermaids swim. Yes I did say mermaids. A month or so ago we went to the same state park and met 2 lovely ladies that just happened to look like beautiful mermaids (tail and all). While we were talking to them that fateful day they informed us they would be having a mermaid party on Father’s Day. Of course my little girls were excited about this prospect.

When we arrived to our swimming spot we found that the area was packed. We paid our admission fee and made our way to the dock. After unpacking and eating lunch we made it in the 73 degree water (which feels freezing cold in 90 degree weather). My girls were scoping out the area looking for the mermaids and all we saw were tails.

After swimming for a while the mermaids made their appearance. They were so beautiful with shells, pearls, and gorgeous tails. We saw the mermaids that told us about this party and talked for a bit. My husband inquired about the tails (wanting to possibly look into getting tails for our girls) and found out that the mermaid responsible for most of the tails was there and she was in fact my husband’s favorite mermaid (because of her dark purple hair) . I found out her name is Michi and she is a very lovely mermaid. I have become very interested in “mermaiding” as it is called, who wouldn’t be you get to dress up in beautiful swimwear and do one of my favorite things, swim.

My husband was kind and took pictures of the springs for me, he just didn’t get the mermaids (sorry).

Rainbow Springs Swim  Area

Rainbow Springs Swim Area

My own little mermaid (in purple)

My own little mermaid (in purple)

As you can see the water is a beautiful blue and is very clear.

We left the springs earlier than usual so we could go home and cook our Father’s Day dinner STEAK! I wanted to cook the whole meal for my husband and father, but of course my darling husband would not hear of it he wanted to grill. I made the sides, baked potatoes and sautéed mushrooms.

fresh mushrooms sauteed in REAL butter!

fresh mushrooms sautéed in REAL butter!

Our delicious steaks before the fire.

Our delicious steaks before the fire.

That is how I spent Father’s Day with my family.

Now back to business. The next post will feature an update on my freelance status, I promise you it will be a very interesting read. So stay tuned!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

