Bidding…Bringing your “A” game!

I have learned in this short time that employers are looking for someone who gives fresh ideas, seems like a simple thought right?

Well what a lot of people looking for a job on a freelance site often make one BIG mistake. That mistake is a “canned” bid, a bid that the freelancer posts that gives all their basic information and thoughts. A bid that the freelancer will just copy and paste and continually use.

Most perspective clients can see a “canned” bid from a mile away. When the client is looking for someone to work for them they weed out  these bids by merely deleting them.

Don’t worry, I have made this mistake I will show you my “canned” bid.

I am seasoned administrative professional.

I have over 13 years of experience in the administrative/clerical field. I am dependable and a hard-worker  I pride myself on being a quick study.

If accuracy and reliability is what you are looking for then look no further.

I have attached a copy of my resume so my experience can speak for itself.

Thank you for your consideration. 

Doesn’t look bad right? WRONG! I have learned very quickly that a perspective client is looking for someone who is going to tailor make their bid EVERY time. It only makes sense, put yourself in their shoes for a moment. You are looking for someone to fill a need you have, do you really want to choose a freelancer that won’t even take the time to sell their services properly to you? Of course the answer is no, who would pay good money to hire someone who isn’t even reading the description of the job requirements? At least that is what a perspective client thinks when they see a “canned” bid.

I am going to give you tips on what you should write and then show you an example of an original bid (that actually got me a job).

  1. Read the job description COMPLETELY. What some clients have done to see if you’re reading the ad is key word placement. That is placing a few words in the ad to see if the freelancer will incorporate those words in their bid.
  2. Be original, you need to give information on who are you are and what you know in your own personality.
  3. Sometimes the KISS  (Keep It Simple Stupid) approach is best, actually I like to call it KIS do not like the last “S”. You want to give your information with your personality but in simplistic terms. I have seen bids with a lot of 20 dollar words and sometimes it’s just overwhelming. You can show your intelligence without using so many big words. One of the things my current client has taught me (and he gives advice to website entrepreneurs for a living) is write how you talk, it is more engaging to the client because they get you in the written word.
  4. Stay true to who you are and what you know. Show off the skills you know well, show the client that you want to help them, isn’t that what it’s all about?
  5. Last but not least BE HONEST, if you put in that one well written bid and you have a client contact you with questions,  be honest. If there is something you don’t know but think you can learn it or are a quick study tell the client that rather than lying and getting way over your head.

Now with all that said and seeing my “canned” bid it’s time to see an original bid that appealed to my client because I used the tips above (of course I learned the hard way).

I work with WordPress everyday. I actually have my own blog: https://palmerfancyfreelance.wordpress.com/
as you can see I am just starting out in the freelance world and I am excited about it. I want to work for people that are making their dreams reality and in doing this I hope to achieve my dream.

I am also familiar with Facebook because I also have my own page as well: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Palmer-Fancy-Freelance/269656433178401?ref=hl

I think we would work well with each other, you help entrepreneurs, and I am an entrepreneur who wants to help you.

I might be new to the world of freelancing but I am definitely not new to the work of administrative assistance. I have spent over 13 years in the clerical/administrative management field and I am ready, willing and able to help you with all your clerical needs.

I take pride in the work I do and want to deliver a product you as my employer will be proud of. I am reliable, hard-working, efficient, detail-oriented and will give 100% to assure you are satisfied with my clerical work.

I am a self proclaimed jack-of-all trades and am a quick study. If there is something I do not know I will make sure I will learn it to get the job done.

I welcome any and all questions, please feel free to email me I have access to my email 24-7.

I have attached a copy of my resume, so my experience can speak for itself. I would love work with you.

Thank you for your consideration. Hoping to hear from you soon! 

See the HUGE difference, the bid was 10 times longer than my “canned” bid. On this particular bid I decided that I wanted to have a new approach. I had submitted at least 15 bids without a reply. I had to re-invent how I was placing bids, that day I looked at my canned bid really hard. I didn’t like what I saw and changed it.

So what you need to do now is get out there yourself and Bring your “A” game in your own way, if I can do it so can you!

The next post will be covering my first lesson in the FREE blogging class I started with Blogelina. I hope you stay tuned.

I hope this post was helpful. I have a contact form below I would love to get some feed back.

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bidding…Bringing your “A” game!

  1. Soli says:

    To be honest, that’s no different than what you would do with a cover letter. If the cover is something canned and not specific to the position (or even including the name of the person reading, if you can have it), you have no chance getting past the first round.

Leave a Reply

