What I learned in Blogging Class

I know what everyone is thinking, “really a blogging class”? Yes I really am taking a blogging class and I think what I learn is going to be helpful.

As a blogger my goal is to reach you, the reader. I hope that the people  following this blog are in the same situation as I am which is the want to work as a freelancer. Or at least your thinking about the prospect and want to see how it pans out for someone else. Well, I want to reach as many people as I can and I am not sure of all the resources available, or how to go about reaching others. So yes I am looking to a professional for help.

Luckily this professional offers FREE webinars  hosted by Blogelina, so bloggers can attain the goals they think are not easily reachable.  I saw the offer and decided that it couldn’t hurt to get tips from someone who is blogging and is successful, especially if the advice is free. I enrolled and my first class was on Tuesday July 2, 2013. The class started at 8:00pm EST, of course that is the time I am usually trying to get my little one to bed. She decided to help Mommy out and fell asleep at a reasonable time. I rushed downstairs to start class and actually was able to sign in before the class started.

The topic for my first class was: “The Importance of Goals” A good place to start, don’t you think?  Our instructor was  conveying the importance of goals with a blog. Of course the best reason is: goals keep you focused. If you do not set goals when blogging you can become easily distracted.

Well with anything you want to accomplish goals are important. The main areas to look at when setting goals for your blog are (according to the instructor):

  • Traffic – How many readers do you want to see on your blog? (daily, weekly basis)
  • Content – This is where the What, Who and Why of blogging comes in, What are your writing about? Who do you want to reach? and Why are you writing? (is there a specific topic you want to write about)
  • Making Money – Do you want to make money from your blog? How much do you want to make? Enough for a part-time or full-time income? Do you have ideas on how to make income on your blog?
  • Community – What do you want your blog community to look like? Do you want more involvement from your readers?
  • Networking – Do you want to connect with other bloggers? Do you want to guest blog on other blogs? Would you want a guest blogger?
  • Time – How much time are you willing to spend on your blog? How often do you blog?

These bullets raise some very good questions. I have a lot of these questions already answered in my mind. How does this class relate to freelancing you ask? Well most of these questions can be applied to freelancing. Let’s see how we can apply these questions to freelancing:

  • Traffic – How many clients do you want to reach? (daily, weekly)
  • Content – This is where the What, Who and Why of freelancing comes in,  What kind of freelancing are you wanting to do? Who do you want to have for clients? and Why are you freelancing? (are you wanting to work from home, be your own boss, etc.)
  • Making Money – Do you want to have a part-time of full-time income?
  • Community – What do you want to do freelance wise? Long distance or closer clients? (Out of town, state, country)
  • Networking – Do you want to connect with other freelancers? Do you want to work as a group and start a company?
  • Time – How much time are you willing to spend on your freelance jobs? How often do you work?

Pretty easy right? Whoever said that making something you have been dreaming about work being easy? If it were easy it wouldn’t be called work.  The tasks at hand take some considerable thought. But of course these items are worth thinking about, we are talking futures here. Just like any investment you need to take the time and choose what is best for you and do it!

I suggest any inspiring bloggers look up Blogelina and possibly enroll in one of her webinars.

I hope you learned as much as I did this week and I helped inspire you to do what is important. I would love to get some feedback so please fill out the comment form below. If there is anything you would like to see me cover in future posts please let me know.

I also have a Facebook page you can “like” just click Palmer Fancy-Freelance or you can follow me on Twitter PalmerFreelance

Next post I will be covering promoting yourself (whether it is a blog, or a freelance website) so please stay tuned.

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I learned in Blogging Class

  1. LFFL says:

    Never knew there were blogging classes.

Leave a Reply

