Show me the money $$$

money_stack

The day I received my first paycheck, I had just woken up and was at my desk working on my laptop, an e-mail notification popped up and there it was. To be honest it wasn’t much but, I had only been working for a week or so.

when I saw the money in my PayPal account I did a happy dance. Not because of the money (well maybe just a little), but the big reason was this money, was money I earned.

I earned it on my own without being on a company’s payroll. I was not getting up at ungodly hours of the morning and shipping my children to a daycare so I could walk into a job like a zombie.  This money symbolized my freedom, yes that’s right I said it FREEDOM!

I am free to make money when and how I want to, I can work for 5 hours and take a break to be with my kids. I can go swimming with the family and not worry about a corporate cell phone ringing and having to rush off to work. I can have family come visit me and not have to work for 40 hours straight assuring everything is done, and then still get a phone call when on vacation.

No, I am not being dramatic, these were some of the situations I dealt with in my last job.

To anyone reading this that is wanting to become freelance, I am telling you it is worth it alone just to be your own boss. I am not going to lie it is hard work, frustrating at times, and a little scary but it is worth it.

One of my major goals right now is to make enough money to keep my family afloat. I think if I have 3 freelance jobs that will be enough. Right now by the grace of God I have two jobs. What makes me a lucky girl is these two jobs seem to be permanent (as long as I keep my customers happy).

Another major goal I have is to establish a good reputation with my customers. I want them to rave about the services I provide, one of the terms I like to use is “impress the socks off of them”.  Of course the only way to do this is to work hard, put in some long hours and get the job done right (not fast but right).

My darling hubby is the sweetest man, he believes that I should be making a million dollars because I am that good. When I tell him about the jobs I am bidding on he thinks I am bidding too low, he says “They want to hire a bottle of champagne, for a bud-lite price”. Yes this man is a keeper and so good for my ego!   Of course the one thing he does not understand is when a company wants to hire freelance its because they want a specific job done at a reasonable price. If they wanted to hire someone and pay a full-time employee price that is exactly what they would do. He also does not understand that I am new to freelancing and do not have an established reputation yet. I have to establish myself and get some really good ratings before I can ask for a higher rate of pay, and these little jobs add up to a nice bottom line.

So to sum it up: establish a good reputation for yourself (customer satisfaction), the little jobs add to the bottom line (every bit counts) and nothing is better than the FREEDOM of being your own boss!

The subject for my next post is “Tuesday Night Line-Up, How to Manage a Family and Attend On-Line Classes”, I will be sharing how I feed my family, attend an on-line class and work all in the same night (I might even throw in a quick and easy recipe as well).

I hope you stay tuned!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Show me the money $$$

  1. Sara R says:

    I am impressed. You seem to understand what this new roll will take, and are ready to put the work in to make work for you. I also think it is wonderful that your husband thinks so very highly of your skills.

Leave a Reply

