Tuesday Night Line-Up, How to Manage a Family and Attend On-Line Classes

Sounds like a mouthful huh? Well believe me it is, I have an unusual family.  This is not a bad thing and when I say unusual I mean an unusual schedule. My husband works for the Department of Corrections, it’s a 12 hour shift at night. The schedule he has rotates so he never has the same days off in one week.

I like this because at least this way he gets every other weekend off to spend with us. What makes this difficult is how I work, watch the kids, meal plan, and clean the house. Because his schedule constantly changes so does mine, I have learned to adapt but some days there is very little room for mistake with my scheduling. This brings me to my Tuesday nights.

Every other Tuesday he is home so when 8:o0pm comes and it is time for my class, he has the baby and is holding down fort (yes as I said before he IS a keeper).  The issue is the Tuesdays he has to work, I have to plan my schedule for the evening so precise there can’t be a bump in the road (heh, that is difficult with a 10 month old, 7-year-old and 9-year-old).

So what do I do for menu planning, baths, bed times and have time to attend class you ask? Well my Tuesday line-up is this. I make meals simple on Tuesday, I am an old-fashioned Italian girl and so when I cook it is in bulk. Now this is when my little bulk cooking comes in handy. When I menu plan for grocery shopping I make Friday and Tuesday nights a left-over night or what we call a must-go night.  Now for those who don’t know what left-over night entails, you take all the meals in the fridge since the last left-over night and heat it up and eat it (also known as a smorgasbord) and what ever is left we usually dispose of after that meal because as we call it must-go (because of possible items expiring soon).  This saves time in the kitchen, time I put towards bathing and sending children to bed.

Another easy and useful tip is making meals in advance and freezing, that also helps because you have an already cooked meal all you have to do the morning of is take the meal out of the freeze defrost and heat.  There are many different items you can make in advance even yummy snack for those days you are on the go and want to have something stashed in a purse or baby bag for the kids who will often say in the worse moment “Mommy I’m hungry”

One of my new friends Sara who is also a fellow blogger and Mommy has a wonderful recipe for granola that she makes for her kids in large batches in advance and has on hand.  Of course the link is to Sara’s blog  – {Sara} Under the Sun, click the link a check her blog out, you won’t be sorry.

The best thing to do when being a freelancer is to schedule everything that you possibly can, the more you schedule out the more time you will have in the end to spend with your family.

Ok so now it’s time to hear from you, I would love to hear what you think. Or maybe there is a topic you would like me to cover. Go ahead and fill out the comment form below and I will be sure to cover what ever topic or question you would like me to.

Now next post I am planning will be: “It’s Due When?” of course this post will be covering how to stay in certain time-frames when working multiple freelance jobs.

I hope you stay tuned!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

