You’re a Freelance What?

Freelance-home

One of the comments I received on my last post was…

“What kind of business is it? Freelance can mean a lot of things. Are you writing large articles for business’s?”

So I decided that tonight’s post will touch on what type of freelancer I am.

I try not to talk about what particularly I do, or am as a freelancer because in my mind I am a little bit of everything. I tell most people, I am a proclaimed “Jack of all trades”. But since I was asked I will put it this way, most of the work I do is as a virtual assistant.

My experiences are far greater than “what I do”. The last job I held I had to learn a lot from self teaching. I didn’t have someone to hold my hand, so what I didn’t know I learned. I have a talent for being able to read or look at something and apply to my life.

I currently have a few customers/clients and I have done the following tasks in these freelance jobs:

  1. Editing web articles
  2. Managing WordPress blogs
  3. Managing Facebook pages
  4. Customer services calls/emails
  5. Emailing newsletters
  6. Transcribing, editing, and posting videos to YouTube
  7. Pitching new ideas
  8. Editing HTML content

In this list there are things that I was familiar with and there were things that I was not.

Every person going into freelance anything has their own reason, mine was because I need to feed my family. I think that my motivation comes from needing to provide. Yes, I want to freelance but also being in my particular situation it’s a no brainer. I don’t have to pay a daycare which that bill alone would eat up a TON of the money I would make (I mean have you seen the going rate for daycare?).

I think about all the applications I submitted (around 500) and out of all those applications in 1 year’s time I went on 5 interviews. That is ridiculous, I know some of the jobs I was over qualified for but 5 interviews out of 500 applications? I know why, it was because of the money I was asking for? Why hire someone like me who wants 14 dollars an hour, when you can hire someone a little greener and pay less? I put myself in the employers shoes and understand this especially with this economy.

So after a lot of soul-searching I decided that giving the freelance avenue a go was not a bad idea. I am very pleased with the results. I have customers/clients who I absolutely adore, I could not have asked for better customers. I get to do what I love on my terms, and I have been fortunate enough to actually have customers that want my input, that are looking for someone with innovative ideas. I have also learned about new software that is available to help with certain parts of my job. This is truly a win, win  because I am learning more each day (which helps attain more jobs).

Now the pay? Well the pay is decent, I think about what I would be paying out for services, gas, etc. with a “regular” job versus what I get paid as a freelance VA and it makes sense. I do want to find at least one more job to cover all the bills but at this moment what I have really helps. We certainly are not living in the “rich and famous” lifestyle but we are not flat broke either. Some weeks we really feel the pinch but, my kids are happy, healthy, and have a roof over their head.

I think the best part of all is I am here for my kids, I don’t miss important occasions anymore. It was sad because when I first lost my job I actually would hear my “corporate phone ring” when I no longer owned one. That’s called Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), I am happy to report that I no longer hear that phone. I no longer feel the need to have to answer the phone or see who is calling anymore. If I don’t want to pick up my phone I simply don’t. looking back at those times makes me sad. I cannot believe I ever let a job do that to me, for what? When I needed that employer most they simply turned their backs.  Now, I do miss the people I worked with; they we good people (we are talking day-to-day basis co-workers, not the administration). For the most part I keep up with a lot of people who worked at that facility (some still work there and some met the same fate that I did).

I do not regret what has happened to me, in a way it woke me up to the important things and people in my life (before it was too late). I would liked a more comfortable way to change my life, but we are making it through. I wouldn’t have made it as far as I have without the people in my life: I have a very supportive husband who loves and adores me (he must because of all the stuff I put him through), I have a great sister/best friend who pushed me in this direction, a mother who supports and carries me through, a brother who helps by playing devils advocate, a sister-in law that tells my brother to stop, and my dad who just loves me the way I am. Without all those people and my little munchkins I would be lost.

So with all that said I hope I shed a little light on who I am and what I do.

I hope you have enjoyed this post, please leave me a comment (you never know when I might use your question as a topic). If you like what I have written please follow me I also have a Facebook page which you can like as well.

Please stay tuned for my next post!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You’re a Freelance What?

  1. Good job Mandy 🙂 Love reading each and everyone of your blogs!!!!
    I am very proud of you as well

    With love, your sister in law who says no to your brother LOL

Leave a Reply

