Give it your all and…expect the best!

EXPECT~1

I have learned at the ripe old age of 36 that, you can’t make people happy all the time! Yea I am a little slow on the uptake.

So with that said, when I embarked on this journey of re-inventing myself  I decided the only people I really need to make happy is myself and my family. Now, because I am not killing myself to make others happy with the decisions I have made, or work I have done does not mean I don’t care about how they feel.  It simply means I give it my all and expect the best from people.

I haven’t changed my work ethic, I just changed how I take on criticism. Before I would take criticism as a brow beating now, the new me takes it as someone’s opinion, and we all know everyone has an opinion. I think it has made me a conscientious business person, I care enough about my client and want to please them with what I do. I just know that happiness is not something I will always get as an outcome and to take it in stride.

Now the reason why I am stating this is because this past week I have worked hard on a project for one of my clients. I just emailed the finished product and I am very proud of what I have accomplished. I want my client to be happy with the work I have put into this project but I know that might not happen. All I can do is give it my all (which I did) and…expect the best!

This client has been happy with the work I have completed at this point. There have been things that I needed to change on other assignments but all in all I have been successful. I believe that this client and I see things on the same level so it is easier to make happiness a reality.

Applying this concept to everything I have done so far, seems to be like an idea that works. This week I have an interview with another possible client and maybe an agency I can freelance for as well. Things are looking up in a business view and I am happy.

When I put in bids I have decided to be myself, state the truth and of course give it my all and…expect the best! Can you see the pattern here? I am on the second month working as a freelance assistant and I feel like I am in a good place with my schedule.

I was hoping that getting my schedule worked out properly before the kids start school next month was possible (and it is). I want to transition easily and if I can complete work while the kids are home, I can certainly do it while they are at school and the house is quiet.

For me this is the exact reason why I wanted to work from home, so I could have the best of both worlds. Bringing in an income and taking care of my children so strangers wouldn’t have to. I wanted to do this from the beginning with my first two daughters but was unable to (because technology wasn’t as advanced, and I wasn’t in the right head space). But now I was given a “do-over” the girls are still young enough where they have me at home and I don’t have to put my baby through the horrors of daycare (I never was able to pick out the right daycare).

I look forward to the things I was unable to do earlier on for the older girls (doctors appointments, school programs, etc.). I can also go on vacation and can stay in the country without the worry of being called from a corporate phone (my best friend loves this one because that phone was her arch nemesis). I can move my schedule around to match my darling hubby’s so on his days off I can actually spend time with him and I am not at the “office”.

I can say with pride I feel this career path that I have chosen for myself is REAL and YES I can make a living from working at home. I have found a way that does not involve pyramid schemes and stuffing envelopes.

For you the reader who is either aspiring to go freelance or you’re actually walking through the steps along with me. I can easily tell you this, if you put in the time, have the patience and of course learn and change as you go. I believe it’s a goal ANYONE can achieve!

Just remember all you can do is GIVE IT YOUR ALL AND…EXPECT THE BEST! You will be surprised on what will happen!

I hope this post was enjoyable, and helpful. If it was please feel free to like and follow my blog. I also have a page on Facebook which you are welcome to like as well.

I ask if you have any comments or questions please feel free to fill out the form below.

I will be talking to you again in 2 days time about another exciting and new topic. Please stay tuned!

 

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

