I thought Juggling was for the Circus!

juggle

Now as you can see from the picture above I am not spry enough to juggle like that. 😉

I am talking about juggling work, and jobs. I am proud to announce that I have 4 really good clients and I am excited to get my schedule together and work out all the kinks.

Yes now is the time for planning and plotting! I am hoping by the end of this week I will be under way with my clients and will be able to fit every piece of the puzzle together.

One of the good parts of being a virtual assistant is I have 4 clients that have 4 different needs (and also have different time zones). Now most people would think the time zone thing would be an issue but that is where you are most certainly wrong. The fact that I have a client in London, 2 in California and one in New York helps out. Different things are due at different times, it actually gives me time to work on different projects and get them done right on time…see the juggling act?

Now of course you have to make sure not to mix up projects.

There are a couple of things I do:

1. Make specific folders for each client (I do this in my Word, Excel, and Favorites on my web pages) I even have my Elance account organized with files of current bids, closed bids, current jobs, etc. this way everything is tucked away nice and neat in folders for each client.

2. As mentioned before in Organizing, Scheduling and Menu Planning…No One Ever Said it was Easy!  I use a dry erase board to help keep deadlines and clients organized and clear.

3. Take notes! Yes when in doubt take out a notebook and do it the old-fashioned way! Sometimes this is the best so you can get details written down while in a conference call (I did that today as a matter of fact).

There are also a couple of things you want to make sure you constantly do to assure you keep yourself organized. After each work day you want to make sure your workspace is always kept cleaned and that you file things right away so nothing is ever lost. To be honest as a business owner/freelancer there is a lot of paperwork you have to keep tabs on. It is nice to have the thoughts of a paper free workspace but it is not a reality. There are some things you must have in hardcopy.

One of the things that keeps me clean and organized is my 11 month old daughter. Nothing like a little one toddling around getting into things to keep you in check. If you don’t have a little one…I can lend you mine really cheap! I am just kidding, but if you don’t have a little one really, you just have to make sure you take care of the tidying business on your own.  The best way to do that is file and clean as you go. To be a freelancer means you have to be organized it is a must!

As I mentioned before I had different clients in different time zones, well I have found that one of the things that helps in this area is a time zone widget. These nifty little widgets are installed into your computer and run on your desktop, they show the times in the different time zones you need. Right now I have London and California on my desktop.

Now I am hoping I hear from you my reader. I would love to get comments and questions about freelancing, working from home, scheduling, etc.  Who know if you send me a question it might just become one of my topics, I think that is a neat concept being able to engage with you and cover questions you have for me.

If you want to participate then please fill out the contact form at the bottom of this post.

I would be thrilled if you want to follow me. I also have a Facebook page and a Twitter account as well.

I will be talking to you again in a few days and I am thinking about possibly making a recipe post. Of course I will be touching on getting ready for the kidlets to go back to school and of course during this time darling husband will be at home on vacation. There will be much to read about I guarantee it!

I hope you stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

