Back to School Boogie!

YAY! School Starts Monday

YAY! School Starts Monday

It seems like the last few years we have constantly been making changes and back to school is not left our in this arena.

Between after care in daycare, with loving family members, or home with Mommy  my children have weathered many changes when it comes to school. Well this year they will have one more change.

Having Mommy home working while they are at school. I see so many opportunities in the upcoming year for my kids.

To start this is my nephew’s last year of high school YES! class of 2014 rocks! Hopefully this year will bring him fun and enjoyment of his final year in the public school system. This is a bittersweet year for me and I am sure for him as well. After graduation my nephew will be heading off to the military and will mark and end of a chapter for us as a family.

iphone pictures 254

My Boy, who has turned into an amazing man!

I look back 11 years to when my nephew joined our family, we were told that when we took him in it would only be for 2 weeks. As my nephew puts it this is the longest 2 weeks of his life. Essentially my nephew is our first child (I was 5 months pregnant with my oldest daughter when he entered our lives) I learned a lot with him and he has been a wonderful “son” to have. Even though he is not our “son” biologically, he really is in every other way a child can be. I have watched “our boy” grow from a sweet, silly and sometimes misunderstood boy to a strong-willed, secure, responsible, admirable man. I can say with the love and tears in my eyes that I am proud of him. He has beaten the odds, and he proves to anyone that uses their unfortunate childhood as crutch that, it’s how you choose to live your life and not what happens to you in life that determines who you are!

So I say with a happy heart that this year will be the year he will always remember (I hope) as the final and best year of his childhood. When “our boy” (he will ALWAYS be my boy) leaves the nest, I will cry tears of joy and sorrow for he will be my first child to face the wilds of the world. He will always be welcome in our home (which will ALWAYS be his home) and I hope he will come back as often as he can to spend time with us.

So, now on to my other children:

Now that I am working from home and my business is becoming an income that is stable, I can plan afterschool activities for the girls.

I am looking into girl scouts for them. I was in girl scouts when I was a child and it is a good group to get young girls into. I remember some of the activities I did as a child and they are good solid memories. I want this for my girls so I emailed the local girl scouts chapter and am hoping I can get them into scouting.

I was thinking about martial arts as well. If working from home becomes lucrative enough I will be looking into a local martial arts school. My oldest daughter was able to get into her school’s glee club last year and she is hoping to do the same this year as well.

This is how I imagined life when my darling husband and I were planning a family. My children deserve to have a mother home to take care of them, and my husband deserves to have a wife that gives him the attention he deserves. I have to admit when I went to work I fell very short of that mark.

But that was then…and I am in the NOW!

With school starting in 5 days there is a positive buzz or excitement in the house and I am loving how everything feels. Friday we go to orientation at my daughters school and I get to meet teachers, and find classrooms and deal with 2 little girls squealing with excitement. This for me is going to be fun because this little detail was something the darling husband always did, now it is my turn and I am going to enjoy every last-minute.

Now because we are getting ready for school I decided I would post a recipe for the perfect afterschool treat…That’s right you guessed it homemade CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES! I have found a great recipe that I use as my go to recipe. It is one I found from another blogger by the name of Holistic Squid she has taken a classic cookie recipe and made it something you are not afraid to feed your child. Yes it’s a feel good cookie recipe. Just bake these fresh from the oven and pair them with your favorite milk (some choose raw, or whole) and you have a great snack!

For everyone out there that is in the process of raising their children and working, I say this…You can have it all you just need to stay focused and remember what is important and prioritize accordingly (unlike the way I used to be).

Please also realize that little ones grow very fast and once they hit the school it’s a blur so enjoy these days because little ones turn into men and women and leave you (like they are supposed to) but it goes quicker than you think. Never say I have time to do that with you later, because later may be when they are adults and walking out the door.

I took this same opportunity this afternoon with my little baby (who will be 1 next month). I was supposed to be working on a project but she wanted my attention so guess what I did. That’s right I put the laptop aside and got down on the floor and played with my baby. It made her feel loved and secure and we had a great time. The work was still there after our time together and it eventually got done. That my friends it the beauty of a freelance worker!

I hope you learned a few things in today’s post, I also hope you enjoyed it too!

If you did please like and share, and if you are not following my blog please do that too!

I would love to hear from you so please take the time to fill out the comment form below. You can ask questions, make suggestions or just say hello!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

