While the kids are away…Mommy will play, actually work & more!

school

Yes this week marked the beginning of school! Don’t get me wrong I love spending time with my girls but after 2 months of them being home they simply get bored and need something more.

School is just something a child needs. It gets them out of the house and even though I am a stay at home Mom, I have a job to do.

Home Stuff:

My routine is nice because the morning is busy with chores and playing with the baby. Then when the baby goes down for nap, I have all that time to get my work done so I do not have to work as much at night. The beauty of the kids going to school is the baby actually gets to take an uninterrupted nap (which is anywhere from 2.5 – 3 hours).

Do you know how much I can get done in 3 hours? A LOT! When the baby wakes up we have lunch and get out the door in enough time to get in the car line at the school to pick up the girls. Then there is homework and the baby will go back down for another nap and I get more work done and dinner started. The day flies by for me before I know it all the kids are in bed and I am wrapping up the day with tidying and putting myself to bed.

When I was working outside of the home it was hard to keep things clean and tidy. I have found that working from home is great because in between work I am constantly tidying, doing small loads of laundry and assuring everything is just right.

It also helps that I am home so, when the kids get home and start throwing their things around the house I get right on them and make them clean up. Actually I almost have them programmed to put things away when they get home. My oldest does exactly what she is supposed to because she does not want to hear me yak at her!

One of the best blogs I was introduced to by my BFF is FlyLady. This website is for anyone who dislikes cleaning or wants to clean things up and doesn’t know where or how to get started. The method is genius and I have been doing this (well actually started some of it on my own before I knew about the site). I love one of the things she says “Keep in mind that your home did not get this way overnight, and it is not going to get clean in a day” So, so true! The best part about adopting this method is once you get the house clean it only takes minutes in a day to keep it up.

I love going to bed knowing I have a clean home and I love waking up to see that clean home. My oldest daughter asked me the other day “Mommy the floor doesn’t look dirty so why are you vacuuming?” and my simple answer was “I vacuum it every day so the floor will almost never look dirty”. That is one of the problems most people have, it doesn’t look dirty so why clean it until it does look dirty. I know I speak from experience.

Freelance Update:

Currently I have 3 jobs through Elance, 2 jobs that are with business owners and private organizations and I work for WorldWide101 (which is a company that matches Virtual Assistants with private business owners that need help).

I have been blessed with enough jobs to keep me very busy.

I met with an accountant because darling husband and I both feel we need the help when it comes to next years taxes. She gave us a lot of good advice and I am going to be filing to become an S Corporation in the next few weeks so I will be Palmer Fancy-Freelance, Inc.  This is very exciting for me, I never thought I would have a business name let alone be an actual S Corporation.

I can also honestly say the clients that I have I truly like working for, each client is different and I am completing different tasks. This is not a stale repetitious job where I do the same task over and over. I get to do new things, learn a lot of different software and talk to a lot of different people with good things to say.

One thing I have found out working freelance is, there is a HUGE market for website and business coaching. I have a few clients that are in the marketing business and they all do something a bit different with marketing. The brilliant thing is I get to learn from the best and I get paid to do so. How awesome is that?

I also learned that because I am my own boss I can pick and choose who I work for, I have made it my goal to work for people who are truly helping others. I do not want to associate with someone who is in it just for the money. It is nice that I held out for the better jobs the clients who are looking for someone long-term not just someone to complete a report. I am happy with the clients I have and I think I am staying at this nice comfortable number right now. I am making enough money to pay the bills and get caught up. Which means once we are caught up we can save and be comfortable again.

So what’s coming up next?

Well soon the baby will be 1. So we are planning the upcoming event. Once her birthday hits the rest of the year will seem to fly by.

Our fall and winter seems to zoom past, it’s chock full of birthdays, anniversaries and of course Holidays.

Last but not least:

I wanted to mention that there is an awesome opportunity for those of my readers who are fellow bloggers, or those of you who have thought of starting your own blog.

For a limited time Blogelina is signing up those who want to take her webinar series “Profitable Blogging for Beginners”
4-Week Profitable Blogging For Beginners Class - For A Limited Time Only $5!
This webinar is being sold to you for only 5 dollars (normally $25 dollars). Yes you read it, right 5 dollars for the series which includes:

  • The Class Manual – packed with 60 pages of information that will help take the overwhelming out of starting your own blog
  • 4 weekly online class sessions where you can ask your questions and get personalized feedback
  • A FREE Year of Web hosting! I’m also pleased to announce that Blogelina is able to provide each person who registers for Blogelina’s Online Class complimentary year of web hosting ($84 value)! That’s right – no strings attached, no hidden requirements… Just register for the class through the button below and start building your profitable blog today – on us! (Wondering why paid web hosting is so important for your blog? Oh, and did I mention that the pros recommend it?)
  • Blueprints, Step-by-Step Tutorials, Networking With Other Bloggers – Everything you need to grow your blog!
  • Save yourself a lot of time, trouble, and money – learn from my own experiences what to do and not to do!

If you are interested just click the picture link up above”

That is all I have for tonight. Please stay tuned I will have more fun adventures for you!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to While the kids are away…Mommy will play, actually work & more!

  1. Hi,
    I also sometimes really want to get the kids away to do my work, but whenever I can’t see them, I always think about them. I miss them easily.

  2. We homeschool……but I do love fly lady and we incorporate cleaning into our homeschool day
    Nice 😉

Leave a Reply

