Labor Day Reflections!

labor day

Labor Day, why do we have this day off? A lot of Americans don’t know why.

Labor Day is a day that we celebrate the contributions that the American worker has made to strengthen the prosperity and well-being of our country.

There is ongoing contention, on who really founded Labor Day. The two gentleman who are credited are Peter McGuire and Matthew Maguire.

Peter McGuire (who resembles Kevin Costner a bit to me):

Peter McGuire

Peter McGuire

Peter McGuire was the general secretary of the Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners and co-founder of the American Federation of Labor (now known as AFL-CIO).

It’s said that Peter McGuire was first to suggest Labor Day. he introduced a resolution calling for workers to lead a “festive parade through the streets of the city” (New York City to be exact) on the first Monday of September.

Then there is Matthew Maguire:

Matthew Maguire

Matthew Maquire

Matthew Maguire was a member of International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 344 in Paterson, NJ and it has been said that Maguire first proposed the idea at a Central Labor Union meeting in New York in 1882.

I give them both credit, and honor them because I am sure they both played MAJOR parts in founding the day.

The Holiday then and Now:

Labor Day Parade NYC 1909

Labor Day Parade NYC 1909

The reason why Labor Day began, is to observe and celebrate the worker, with a street parade to exhibit “the strength and esprit de corps of the trade and labor organizations” which was followed with a festival of amusement for the workers and their families. Speeches only became popular when civic and economic significance of the holiday became prominent.

Labor Day Parade NYC 2012

Labor Day Parade NYC 2012

Labor Day has changed in recent years, parades are not as prominent in areas  where big parades and displays have proven to be a problem. The emphasis is on speeches and demonstrations presented by union officials, clerics, politicians and educators.

Notable Labor Day Events and Icons:

Even though Rosie the Riveter was made famous in 1942 for the Memorial Day Edition of the Saturday Evening Post, she is also an icon for the women labor force and therefore is used for Labor Day as well.

Rosie the Riveter

Rosie the Riveter

To have Rosie as a symbol of the American woman is something that should fill every woman with pride. She is strong and still feminine, she stayed home while “Our Boys” fought in a war on the other side of the world. She had to be both a mother and a provider, this is the time women did jobs that were not classified as “woman’s work” and she raised children…she was/is the quintessential super mom!

Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Franklin Delano Roosevelt

FDR’s Labor Day address was one in which the President asked the American people to put their fundamental differences aside and focus on the issues at hand (talking about World War II). He is quoted in saying: “On this day, this American holiday, we are celebrating the rights of free laboring men and women. The preservation of these rights is vitally important now, not only to us who enjoy them, but to the whole future of Christian civilization.”

Of course who could forget a notable Labor Day Event!

Jerry Lewis MDA Labor Day Telethon

Jerry Lewis MDA Labor Day Telethon

As a child I always correlated Labor Day with The Jerry Lewis MDA Labor Day Telethon. A great man raising money for a worthwhile event. Nothing like Tony Orlando singing “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree” and Jerry’s signature song “You Will Never Walk Alone”. Those are very good memories from my childhood.

But for me the most notable Labor Day in my past and forever will be last year. Labor Day 2012 was the day my beautiful angel was born. Yes September 3, 2012 my little angel was born at 7:03am and as my oldest daughter pointed out that last year was truly a “Labor Day” for Mommy!

Angel Baby on her birthday!

Angel Baby on her birthday!

My thoughts and opinions:

soldier and veteran

I think the American people need to look back at earlier times and embrace the greatness of what America means and represents. I think pride in our country should be an everyday occurrence not just when in a state of Emergency or a Holiday.

We need to teach our children our roots (good and bad) and how we have become the nation we are today. I don’t think history should just be taught at schools but at home as well.

Showing respect for our Soldiers and Veterans should be taught as well. These men and women need to be revered and thanked. I know that every time I see a service man or woman (past or present) I thank them for serving our country.

Along with respect to service men and women, there should also be respect for our every day laborers. Teachers, Firefighters, Law Enforcement our important but unrecognized blue-collar worker for if they weren’t here we would be lost.

So today you need to reflect and be thankful for the men and women who make this country of ours great!

Rosie-the-Riveter-Facebook-Cover

Happy Labor Day America!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Labor Day Reflections!

  1. Pingback: Labor Day USA | hungarywolf

  2. Adelien says:

    A late comment one, but I do really just understand what labor day in the United States is and I just thought that it was the same with it is in Indonesia. It is not a holiday in Indonesia. So whenever it is labor day, there will be very long traffic jam in a super hot day which is very disturbing as there will be more wasting time on the street and wasting fuel. Many laborers always have a kind of protest or demonstration near the city hall. The issue is quite unreasonable for me. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

