Sick Days without guilt? This is a first for me!

sick Mom

Who isn’t a crappy Mom when they’re sick? I am lucky because I have darling husband to fill in when I can’t do something. This week the kids gave me the back to school bug (at least that’s what I call it) I was so sick, I actually slept all day Wednesday. Good thing it was the darling husband’s day off, bad thing is he went 24 hours without sleep so I could sleep and heal. Yes this is one of the many reasons why I love this man!

He cared for our 1-year-old and then picked the older girls up from school (half day that day). When I finally woke up he took a brief nap and I pretended to take care of the kids while he napped.

Whatever this was it was awful. I was achy and it felt like someone threw sand in my eyes. I fought the urge to not drink my fluids. But I knew better and drowned myself in ice water and homemade chicken soup from stock made as mentioned in my recent post “A Good Opportunity for Virtual Assistants…and other stuff too!”.

I do have to say that it’s Friday night and I am still sick, just it’s bearable now so I can do my regular work and mom stuff.

The guilt of being sick was never because of my family. My husband has always been very kind to me when I am sick. No, my problem in the past was work. I remember being out sick because of a migraine headache and the boss I had at the time tried to call me (I was asleep so hubby turned the ringers off on all the phones) and when she could not get a hold of me, she called my Mother at work and worried her half to death (this is a true story). Or being out on maternity leave for 2 out of 3 of my children and being on call while I was on leave. Taking calls, ordering supplies and being at my boss’s beck and call.

After that boss retired I had a great boss who actually didn’t call me unless he really had to when I was sick, but I felt guilty because I know how tedious running a 24 hour department was and I felt like I abandoned him. He never made me feel that way, I just did (probably because of the years of taking call with the first boss).

I must say being sick this week has been interesting. I didn’t have to worry about what was happening elsewhere because I was out sick. The clients I have now are wonderful and actually care about my well-being. On three different occasions I was told this week to lay down and get better soon! This made me want to get better so I could get back to what needs to be done.

I thought I would share some of the remedies I use to get better:

Tried and True Cold and Flu Remedies:

1. Homemade Chicken Soup (of course with homemade stock)

2. Drink Plenty of clear liquids (water, gelatin – there are a lot of homemade gelatin recipes out there now).

3. Mentholated Chest Rub (nothing better to clear up a congested chest or nasal passage than rubbing on a little of this stuff).

4. Hot tea with honey and lemon (not only does it soothe but it helps clear congested nasal passages, also has vitamin C from the lemon. Honey is also proven to help with colds and just warms you from the inside out).

5. Plenty of Rest (what your body needs the most when you’re sick, the best way to help your body is to let it rest).

Remembrance of 9/11:

I was so busy resting that posting about 9/11 didn’t happen which makes me sad. So I am going to do it now.

911

It seems like this tragedy happened only yesterday. There are things that you never forget. There are the good memories like: first kiss, wedding day, birth of your children, family vacations, etc.

Then there are memories that are not as good. For my generation it’s stuff like: The Challenger, Chernobyl, Baby Jessica falling down the well, airplane hijacking, and of course 9/11.

I remember being home sick on 9/11, laying in bed with darling hubby and watching everything happen. The shock, disbelief and then horror that someone would do such a thing to so many people. Then more shock and horror because my grandparents were up north and traveling back home that day. The worry about family and loved ones making sure everyone was accounted for. I was one of the lucky ones, all of my family was okay. I know lots of people were not as lucky as I was.

I reflected a lot about the tragedy and if we wanted to bring children into a world that could be so horrible. Then I thought about all the wonderful things in this world and I am happy we decided to have children. I wanted to add to the list of wonderful things in the world. I decided I would raise my children to love, respect and have pride for their earth and country. The only way to make things change is with you, so I now have 3 beauties on this earth and these teachings have already began.

So that’s what my week has been like. Much rest, thought and reflection.

I hope you enjoyed this post and I gave you some good tips along with things to think about.

If you like what I am writing please follow my blog. Also please share and comment. I would love to hear your thoughts and reflections about my post. Maybe how you care for yourself when you’re sick or how 9/11 affected you.

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

