This is why we are a team!

marriage

I truly believe the above statement. I have been married to my darling husband for 15 years now and I have found myself falling in love with him all over again for things he has said or done.

Why choose this as a blog subject you ask? Well being a team with my husband has gotten me where I am today! Without his love and support I would have never made a bold leap like this on my own.

I remember the moment I knew I was going to be successful as a freelance virtual assistant. Darling husband had let me sleep in and I woke up to his voice talking to someone on the phone. I came downstairs and found him in our dining room with a pad of paper writing information. When he hung up the phone he started to review the research he was doing. He was actually helping me research my endeavor to work from home. He was looking at permits, licensing, and all the legwork that would need to be done for me to have a business of my own.

At that moment I knew he was on board and nothing was going to stop us from getting what we wanted. Our goal (which started off being a goal neither one of us thought was attainable) was for me to work from home so I could take care of the day-to-day business of  home maintenance, plus make money, and care for the children.

Some say when getting into freelance work it is all about who you know. I am not sure if that’s true or not but for me it was all about how hungry I was for my dream to become a reality. I am telling you I was very hungry (it also helped that we were a month away from being totally broke and didn’t see a light at the end of the tunnel). As I have said in prior posts like “How it all began” I had been unemployed for quite some time and my unemployment benefits were 2 weeks from expiring when I started my freelance business.

I did catch a break from a friend who was a busy freelancer and needed to give up one of her contracts. She graciously recommended me for the job (which is one of the contracts I still have and don’t ever plan on giving up). But the rest of my success is attributed to my hard work, knowledge, and as my darling husband refers to it “Italian stubbornness”.  It wasn’t hard to find me in those weeks, any free moment I had would be in front of my laptop submitting proposals for jobs, I had at least 10 proposals out at a time.

What made me so stubborn was I saw my husband (who has always been my rock in times of crisis) starting to worry about the loss of income. When I saw that, I knew it was time to put my nose to the grindstone and find a way to make him feel secure in our financial situation (which has never been my forté) but my teammate needed me so it was time to go into action.

By the end of that month I had 4 jobs secure and was working on my 5th. This is the crux of what marriage is about to me. When a teammate is down the other will do everything in their power to secure the relationship which brings me to the last few weeks at Casa de Palmer.

As you know, I got the back to school bug from the kids and was down for quite a few days. In that time I didn’t have any worries because my teammate had me covered. Well I hate to report that I am well, but my teammate is not. Yes that’s right darling husband now has the bug. So I have been working, taking care of the children, cooking, cleaning, and helping the husband get back on his feet (this is why this post has taken so long to get out to you, my apologies).

So now it’s Friday and darling husband has the weekend off and is feeling better. We are going to catch up from the past 2 weeks have a nice weekend with the kids, and  are not going to look back!

In this post I have talked about the importance of teamwork. I am a very old-fashioned girl when it comes to the idea of marriage. I am very against the way couples now see the institution of marriage. It’s no longer seen as a commitment but as an if it doesn’t work for us we can always divorce.” I don’t agree with this, marriage is always a work in progress. People grow and change and the only way to keep your marriage happy and healthy is to grow and change together.

Take the time and talk to each other, my darling husband and I talked a lot before we got married, we actually attended a Pre Cana Class (yes I grew up in the Catholic Church). Darling Husband and I both have decided that the class we attended many years ago helped immensely with our marriage. At the time we laughed at the idea but once we were in the class we learned that discussing something as small as “how you have your toilet paper hanging on the holder” really helps avoid a lot of conflict and fights. I know how silly that seems but it really works.

So there you have it my last few weeks in a nutshell. There have been times that I was out of my mind with crazy kids, poorly planned menu items, and lack of sleep but I have found my way through all the problems and issues which also helps me with thoughts of my next post which will be touching on stress and how to deal with it.

I hope you took some good advice, thoughts, and ideas away from this post.

Please comment below with questions, suggestions or just to say hi.

Hope you stay tuned!

 

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

