Steady as She Goes Captain!

janeway

Sorry about that for all you non-trekkies! I had to do it, after I wrote the title of this post I started seeking out Captain Janeway!

Ok back on trek er…track!

No this post is not about Star Trek (Sorry Rodney, Ken, Richard and all my Trekkie friends).

This post is actually about what my course has been like since starting my business. I have been in business for 4 months now and I am almost at the income I was making before I was “let go” from as people would say “my real job”.

I have excelled farther than I thought I would have. I have clients whom I love working for and I have stable positions secured. I work the schedule I want and take care of the house, kids and other important aspects of my life at my terms. I do not sacrifice the good of my children for my job!

My resume and portfolio has expanded exponentially. I have learned about software I didn’t even know existed. I get to challenge myself everyday with something new and I am proud to say that everything I have tried I have succeeded in doing.

In just months I went from a person who was shaky about starting this venture to a confident woman who is comfortable in who she is and knows she can do anything she puts her mind to! This is the woman I want my daughters to see and want to be.

How did I do it you ask? The easiest answer is a lot of work. Every job I have been awarded I have worked really hard assuring my client is happy with the work they are getting. I ask them to give me a good rating when I have completed the job I was hired to do. I stay in contact with my clients and make sure I am on top of every project that is given to me. I sacrifice 90% of my down time to do my job.

I still spend quality time with my children making sure they are getting the attention they need. I just spend less time (me time) doing the things I want to do. This is one of the things I knew I was going to have to do to become a success and to me it is worth every moment I have put in.

I am not stressed any longer, I take time off the time I need to do things that are important to my family. My house is the cleanest it has ever been and my darling husband does not feel burnt out because he is doing errands on his days off (he actually does the things he enjoys now).

I am also happy to report that my middle daughter (who had anger issues and still does) is doing better, everyday I see her grow. I really think being home has aided her in this process. When I watch her I see there is growth that still needs to occur but I am not as worried for her future as I was.

I know I am painting a beautiful picture, believe me we still have our normal family issues. Arguments happen, things are misplaced and personalities clash but it is nothing like it used to be when I was unavailable and distant from my family.

Sometimes I think I am dreaming and I am going to wake up to the sound of the alarm clock and my old “real job” will be there haunting me. Yes my old job was as bad as I am describing I just didn’t know better.

I hope you found this post to be helpful. I just want to say to those Moms out there that are thinking of becoming freelance. Think hard, research, try working freelance on your downtime, and if you really are wanting to take the risks then go for it. The only reason why I jumped like I did was because I didn’t have a choice. I needed an income and NOW, I was unemployed and had nothing to lose. I was at the best place I could be for taking a chance. I want to tell you if you are employed then research as much as you can before making a quick decision. But for those who have nothing to lose, who are facing losing all you have because you need an income I say DO IT NOW! Work hard, put your all into it and swim as hard as you can to reach the surface.

I will be posting in two days time and by then I will be able to talk a little about the book I am currently reading. It is called Health In Every Size.

I hope you stay tuned!

If you have questions, comments or just want to say hi. Please fill out the form below.

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steady as She Goes Captain!

  1. Oops! I left my comment in the form above, ha! Anyway, here’s what I said: ” I LOVE Janeway! I always thought she was the coolest captain and a good female role model. Yay! I’m also so glad to hear being self employed is working. I worked for others all my life until age 40 when I married my husband who had his own business. Now we work together. It’s a lot of work, as you say, but it’s also flexible which is great when you have kids. Congrats!”

  2. Silly me. I commented but actually sent you a message with it like Stephanie did! lol Do you feel that you can freelance with almost any profession? You have a lot to be proud of. It’s quite an accomplishment to be able to meet your previous income and balance it with your family.

Leave a Reply

