Pumpkins, Costumes and Candy, Makes for a Great Halloween!

Halloween-Aftermath

I love that cartoon because that is how I used to feel the day after Halloween when I was a kid. Unfortunately for my kids I am not as cool as my Mom was when it comes to Halloween candy. There is a limit to how much candy they can have. So because of this I have the annual issue of tons of left over candy. Well this year I was smarter. I actually had a time limit of how long the kids went trick or treating.

This is what they came home with:

2013-10-31 20.34.44

Oldest Daughter’s Haul (Cleopatra)

2013-10-31 20.47.55

Middle Daughter’s Haul (Ballerina Bat Girl)

They both collected enough candy to fit into a gallon sized zip bag and that shall be rationed at a decent pace. I was happy because it wasn’t tons of candy, they were happy because they went trick-or-treating and came home with something. It was truly a win-win situation. I know there are those of you that have a lot of candy at home and don’t want your kids to eat it all, so I decided to share this web article I found  15 Ways to Use Leftover Halloween Candy. I read through this article and there are some really great ideas that the kids would love to get involved in sharing their Halloween stash with others (and maybe get a great prize on top of the joy of sharing with others).

Before the trick-or treating happened we had pumpkin carving. My husband handles this because he has major carving skills. The girls picked HUGE pumpkins this year as seen in my last post Birthday, Costumes and Pumpkins a Quick Palmer Weekend!

Well we have pictures on how the carving went from pumpkin to Kitty themed Jack-o-Lanterns.

What is going on?

What is going on?

My youngest daughter is funny to watch because there is so much interest and curiosity.

Pumpkin guts!

Pumpkin guts!

Yes that is my oldest in the background de-gutting her pumpkin in a dress…can we say girly girl?

Hello anyone home?

Hello anyone home?

Now the next two pictures are priceless to me because of the curiosity of my little one.

Does this taste good?

Does this taste good?

You know what is coming…I know you do!

Oh yes she did!

Oh yes she did!

I can say my youngest is willing to try anything!

Now I know you have seen the costumes but I actually was able to take more pictures with the costumes and the Jack-o-Lanterns.

2013-10-31 18.12.22

Having technical difficulties

Beautiful Girls!

Beautiful Girls!

When we made it home from our night on the town, I took pictures of the Jack-o-Lanterns in the dark.

Spooky Cats

Spooky Cats

And the kids made a Halloween Gingerbread House with Daddy!

2013-10-28 21.10.52

So that is our Halloween at the Palmer House! I hope you enjoyed our post and got some good information as well.

In two days time I will be writing about why sleep is important when working freelance and how I did not make sleep my priority this week and what happened to me because of my choices.

I hope you stay tuned!

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkins, Costumes and Candy, Makes for a Great Halloween!

  1. A time limit is a great idea! Brady didn’t have too much candy, but our problem was I got candy for hubby to give out but he didn’t make it home from work in time so now we have TONS. So I froze most of it and will ration it like over the next year, ha!

Leave a Reply

