November She is a Fickle Friend

2013-11-09 14.11.00

Yes that is a picture taken from an airplane. Where am I going you ask? Well let’s back up a little.

It has been exactly 16 days since I have posted last and in those 16 days things have moved freakishly fast for me.

My best friend who I have mentioned before Soli has been tending to a very ill mother, a mother who I called my surrogate mother when mine was not around. Well I received a call on Tuesday November 5th, 2013 from my best friend, letting me know that she was cancelling her trip to come and visit after Thanksgiving (her annual family visit). I could hear the sadness in her voice and let her know that it was ok that her mom was more important and that if her mom needed help to stay home.

Up until this point I was not sure how sick my best friend’s mom really was. I talked to my darling husband and he looked at things and told me if I needed to travel and help my best friend care for her mother then that was what I needed to do. He was great and told me that I could take our youngest child and head up to Connecticut for a month and take care of things. I was floored my husband was willing to let me go for a month and he would hold down the fort for me. I told my best friend as much and at the time she was unsure about what she wanted to do, so I told her the offer was good as long as she needed me.

Three days later I am out taking my mother to a doctor’s appointment and I get a call from my best friend, which I missed because I was in the library at the time. I get back to the car and check my phone and my heart stops and I am afraid to call her back but I still make the call. She is tells me her mother is heading to Hospice and could I fly up to help her out. Less than 24 hours later I am on a plane with my youngest daughter flying to Connecticut.

In retrospect I am so glad I left when I did because I was able to say goodbye to a wonderful woman who was a big part of my teen years. Yes we lost my best friends mother on Veteran’s Day, which happens to be a big day in my life it is my middle Daughter’s Birthday and my Brother and Sister-In-Law’s  Anniversary. So it is easy to say it’s a day I will never miss.

So now I am here in Connecticut for a month caring/comforting my best friend in this major change in her life. We are spending time taking care of arrangements, going through stuff and cleaning (steps that need to be taken) and most of all keeping each other company in this rough time.

So for the next few weeks my posts will talk about my life up in Connecticut, working long distance,  the beauty of being a VA and I think there will be a few posts about my life when I lived in Connecticut.

And because I have been absent for 16 days I am going to give you something extra to make up for the lost time.

I am going to add one of my comfort foods I made for my best friend per her request:

Gluten Free “Adult” Mac & Cheese – why “Adult” you ask? Because I made it with some items children are not fond of…Pancetta and shallots. So without further adieu here is my recipe I give to you!

2013-11-16 17.44.46

  • 8oz of Pancetta
  • 4oz Real Butter
  • 1 small shallot
  • 1 tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 4tbsp. Arrowroot Flour
  • 1 tsp. Ground Turmeric
  • 1 tsp. Garlic Seasoning Salt
  • 1 1/2 cup of Whole Milk
  • 8oz of Cream Cheese
  • 16oz of Whole Milk Ricotta Cheese
  • 8oz of White Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 16oz of Rice Elbow Macaroni
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

In a small pot you are going to heat the olive oil until warm and then add chopped pancetta. Render the fat from the pancetta then removed cooked and crisped pancetta to the side. Start to cook the rice pasta (cook until a la dente). Add chopped shallot and cook until soft then add butter. Let the butter melt and cook down a bit then add arrowroot flour and let cook until the flour starts to brown and smell like cooking dough. Add turmeric, garlic season salt, milk and cream cheese. Use wire whisk to stir until cream cheese is melted and incorporated then add ricotta and do the same. When the ricotta is incorporated add small cubes of white cheddar cheese to pot and stir, let the cheese melt down a bit. Scramble egg and slowly temper it with the cheese sauce. Heat oven to 350 degrees and have casserole dish ready.  Drain the pasta and put back into cooking pot, then add cheese sauce to the pasta and mix thoroughly (add a few pieces of the reserve pancetta). Put macaroni in the casserole dish and add pancetta to top of dish. Cook in oven for 30 minutes or until top of  mac & cheese is golden brown. Serve, this dish easily serves a family of 4 – 6 people.

As you can see this is not a recipe you can eat every week. It if very rich, heavy and will fill you up. It is delicious, I happened to use organic food items when making this recipe because my friend lives in an area where organic food is easy to find, but using non organic is just as good.

I hope you make this recipe and enjoy every bite. I will be posting again in 2 days time and I will be sharing the ease of working as a virtual assistant/freelancer when traveling.

I hope you stay tuned!

 

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to November She is a Fickle Friend

  1. I am so sorry about your friend’s mom. You’re an amazing friend.
    Now…this mac n cheese recipe looks so delicious. I’ve pinned it and shared it.

  2. I am so thankful that you could be there for your friend, yet I am so sorry for you and your friend. It is hard when we lose someone we love. What a great husband to let you go for a month!

  3. So sorry for the loss of your friends mom but I’m glad you were able to make it to say goodbye and be there for your friend. That mac n cheese looks absolutely yummy!

  4. It’s hard to loose such wonderful people in our lives. How nice that you are able to be there with your best friend.

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  5. Adelien says:

    I feel very sorry for your mom’s friend. By the way the Mac and Cheese is very interesting. However it is a challenge to get the ingredients. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Rhonda says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss that you and your friend are going through. You’re a good friend and your husband is Amazing!

Leave a Reply

