Let’s Grow A Garden!

garden

The above picture is what my dream garden would look like. For now we have to work with this…

IMG_3737

Not that spectacular is it? Well it is just starting out. My girls have been itching to try a garden again. Yes, I said again.  I tried to make a garden 4 years back when I was still working in a traditional office setting and it just didn’t work out. I didn’t have the time and energy needed to make it work.

Now that I work from home and my girls are older I have the time and I can teach them how to help me. We started our garden project on Saturday and I am proud to say we have plant life growing in our little garden.

Garden Collage

And here are my little gardeners…

The Girls Gardening CollageWe had a blast working the ground and getting everything planted. To be honest I did most of the hard labor and the girls planted all the seeds and watered. I know I will be relying on my 10-year-old more than my 8-year-old. When the work got tough my 8-year-old K disappeared and my 10-year-old D was still there helping as much as she could.

We planted watermelon, cantaloupe, tomatoes, carrots, lettuce, Brussels sprouts, string beans, cucumbers, broccoli rabe, and kale. I am hoping that we will be successful. I purchased the seeds to start but I am in the process of also collecting and saving my own.  I have radish and mini sweet peppers for the next time we plant. I am also investigating seed swaps near me in hopes of expanding my garden variety. I plan on planting again in August after this round of vegetables and fruits have been harvested.

For Christmas the girls each got a fairy garden. We decided to make those herb gardens, where they planted parsley, chives, garlic chives and sweet basil.

I figured if we are successful we will have one heck of a salad 😉

That’s all for now, stay tuned for more.

 

 

About Palmer Fancy-Freelance

My name is Amanda (Mandy), recently I have become unemployed and after lots of thought and encouragement from a dear friend I decided to start freelancing business as an Administrative Professional. This blog will document my endeavors to launch a successful freelance business. Why freelance you ask? I have many reasons why I want to freelance and the most important is so I can stay at home and raise my children. In the past year of being unemployed I have found that going to work everyday and being in a management position for a company took me away from what is important, my children and husband. Unfortunately I need two incomes to support my household and freelancing seems like the answer to my prayers. Why blog about it? well I am hoping that I can help others that are wanting to do the same. Maybe someone reading my blog will learn from my mistakes (I know there will be many) and from my triumphs. I am also hoping maybe other freelancers will read as well and help me along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Grow A Garden!

  1. Soli says:

    So proud!

Leave a Reply

